You’ve said enough!

“They were unable to trap him in what he had said there in public.  And astonished by his answer, they became silent.”  Luke 20:26.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 49-50, Psalm 8, and Luke 20.

Sometimes it is time to keep quiet.

The folks in this verse had met their match………and it wasn’t from lack of trying!

O to have the Words of God!  We’re promised them but why don’t we have them ready to use?  We enter the arena of public opinion and end up ranting and raving.

In this verse, Jesus displayed His verbal power and overwhelmed His critics.  We fail in similar verbal encounters with unbelievers because we do not have His Words.  Our words are our words.

We study and read yet the cores of God’s truth are not embedded in us.  We know about them but they are not part of us.

How do I get His Words to be my words?  I must immerse myself in Him.  I must dedicate time to getting to know Him better.  How wonderful it would be if we had His Words rolling off our tongues.

Jesus was reacted to in a variety of ways.  In this case, it was silence.  In other situations, they attempted to hurt Him.  Should I care how folks react to me if His Words were the words I was using?

“Lord, I have always needed You.  In today’s verse, I see the need for Your Words.  I want them.  I want to sound like You.  Fill me with You.  Take me over, I beg.”

We must have God’s Words.

m2

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.