Remember me?

“During that long period, the king of Egypt died.  The Israelites groaned in their slavery and cried out, and their cry for help because of their slavery went up to God.  God heard their groaning and he remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac and with Jacob.  So God looked on the Israelites and was concerned about them.”  Exodus 2:23-25.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 1-2, Psalm 88, and Luke 21.

God is not too busy to notice.

How like us are the folks in these verses.  That could have been me this past week.

We muddle along in our own strength and give little time to God.  Things are rosy.  And then trouble comes.  Our first response is to counter it with our own wisdom.  When that fails we “remember” God and cry out to Him.

The Hebrews were “muddling” in Egypt.  They were flourishing and the Egyptians feared being overwhelmed by these “imports.”  So the Egyptians made things tough, tougher, and then unbearable.  The Hebrews rolled with the “toughs,” but not the “unbearables.”  They reached the “call-to-God” level.

When the Hebrews remembered God, He remembered them.  He never forgot them.  He just waited for the Hebrews to remember Him so that He could intervene.

My walk with God must be constant.  I cannot take time off from Him.  He needs to dominate my thoughts, words, and actions.  I must always remember Him.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word.  Thank You for insights on how to live and how not to live.  I want to live in a way that pleases You.  Strengthen me to do just that.  I love You, Father.”

We must always remember Him.

hw-11-10

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.