Everyone got it

“The Israelites did just what the Lord commanded Moses and Aaron.”  Exodus 12:28.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 12-13, Psalm 21, and Acts 1.

The Israelites were not going to get high marks for obedience most of the time.  This time, however, they are eager and willing to cooperate with Moses and Aaron.

Why so cooperative?  Think of what has been happening.  All sorts of plagues have been happening.  It has been an amazing spectacle.  Something big was going on for sure.

The attention-getting part could well have been that the Egyptians were the victims and not the Israelites.   This was not just something random.

The Israelites may have finally realized that there is a God and He is very powerful.

They may also have connected the dots which told them that the trouble Egypt faced was over disobeying the wishes of God.  They may have understood that God had life/death authority over them.  Might make good sense to do whatever He asks!

God is in charge.  Things happen for God’s reason.  Good things are the result of His grace.  He did not wind up the world and take a vacation!  He is in our midst.

I must be obeying Him in any way I can.  I represent Him where I am.  I am His child now and forever.  He expects me to act accordingly.

“Lord, guide me O thou great Jehovah.  I recognize Your greatness.  You are in control.  That is comforting when things get dicey.  I can trust You.  I love You, Lord.”

Are we attentive to what God wants or do we need a plague or two?

hw-125

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.