Lying is a sin against God

“With his wife’s full knowledge he kept back part of the money for himself, but brought the rest and put it at the apostles’ feet.  Then Peter said, ‘Ananias, how is it that Satan has so filled your heart that you have lied to the Holy Spirit and have kept for yourself some of the money you received for the land?  Acts 5:2-3.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 23-24, Psalm 14, and Acts 5.

Ananias and his wife decided that they would keep some of the money from a house sale for themselves.

Understand that this story has a different ending if they had declared up front what they had done…..kept some of the money.  They didn’t do that.  They declared that all the money they had gotten in the sale was going to the work of the apostles.

They lied.  The bigger point here is beyond the fact that their lie was intended to deceive the apostles.  Ananias didn’t realize that his lie was a lie to God too.

When I sin, I must understand that I am sinning against God.  That is why I should be constantly asking God for forgiveness.  Oftentimes we settle with the person we’ve sinned against and forget that God needs to be settled with as well.

“Lord, how You can love me is unfathomable.  How can I forget that You are well aware of my sinfulness and that I’ve done that sinning against You.  Take my life over.  Prick my conscience when I am letting sin stay unconfessed.  I want to be clean with You.  Help me, I beg.”

Do you say you’ll do things that you really don’t intend to do?  Would that be lying?

hw-130

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.