What’s your heart telling you to do?

“The Lord said to Moses, ‘Tell the Israelites to bring me an offering.  You are to receive the offering for me from everyone whose heart prompts them to give.  These are the offerings you are to receive from them:……..’”  Exodus 25:1-3.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 25-27, and Acts 6.

No subtlety here: You owe me, so give me what is on your heart to give.

I heard a sermon Sunday that included a reference to all the wealth that Christians have.  We’re talking billions of dollars.  Yet there are so many needs still in place.

I admire the work of Samaritan’s Purse because they will attempt to help wherever they can get to.  Their ability to pray for and counsel with those in distress is praiseworthy.

But what about the rest of us?

We owe God.  If we would just take note of the good things we have.  If we would just realize that every good gift comes from Him.  Is it possible that we are to give a portion of our good gifts to those less fortunate?  By hogging things are we locking His desired qualities out of our hearts?

God included a list of things He needed in verses 3-7.  It was not all the same thing.  It might not be money from some of us.  Time?  Service?

If my heart is right with God, I can say, “What do You want from me, Lord?” and be ready to go from there.  How willing am I?  How willing are you?

“Father, forgive me for not seeing all the good things You have given me.  Forgive me for forgetting that You expect a return.  I surrender everything to You.  Take me over.  Take what I have.  Help me to follow a Godly prompting for what this involves.  I love You, Lord.”

A Godly heart can be prompted by Him to do good.

hw-130

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.