I don’t want to hear it!

“’Look,’ he (Stephen) said, ‘I see heaven open and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God.’  At this they covered their ears and yelling at the top of their voices, they all rushed at him, dragged him out of the city and began to stone him.’”  Acts 7:56-57.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 28-29, and Acts 7.

Talk about not wanting to hear any more!

Stephen didn’t insert any humor into his presentation.  He gave a history lesson and implicated those listening as the killers of Jesus.  The history?  Okay.  The finger pointed at them for the death of Jesus?  Not what they wanted to hear.

How angry would you have to be to kill someone who insulted you?  I think that the killers feared for their lives.  Thousands had become followers of Jesus because of the preaching of the disciples.  There could be an uprising against those responsible for His death.

What these folks could have done was to hear Stephen’s words and then repent for what they had done.  But they were going in the opposite direction.  Their plan was to silence the opposition.

How well do you and I listen?  Are we missing things we need to hear because in our own ways we drown out messengers?

We hear a sermon and think of people who needed to hear it other than us.

We read Scripture in such a rote way that we miss things.  I read a chapter out of a book on prayer every day this month and couldn’t have told you the title of the chapter until I took note of it today.  Knowing that title tied a lot of things in the chapter together but I missed it.

“Lord, forgive me for missing things You want me to know.  I need You in every part of my life.  I open to Your Holy Spirit now.  Take me over, I pray.”

Are you hearing His voice?

hw-131

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.