Aaron uses the “Adam excuse”

“He (Moses) said to Aaron, ‘What did these people do to you, that you led them into such great sin?’  ‘Do not be angry, my lord,’ Aaron answered. ‘You know how prone these people are to evil.’”  Exodus 32:21-22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 30-32, and Acts 8.

“I would have never done that if they (someone else) hadn’t made me do it.”  Pitiful excuse.

Aaron is left in charge.  He knows where his brother had gone and he knows what Moses is doing.

The length of time away is an issue but Aaron completely caves in to permitting the Israelites to do something wrong.

Adam yielded to Eve’s request.  When confronted, he blamed the woman.  Where was his ownership?  Same with Aaron.  If he had at least said that he was opposed to what they wanted to do it would be one thing but Aaron facilitated what went on!  It was his idea to make the golden calf.

How Aaron survived after Moses returned is a mystery to me.

I must take ownership of the things I do that are sin.  The essence of sin happens when I reject God in my life.  I cannot blame others when I sin, nor can you.

A life filled with the Holy Spirit has the tools to resist sin.  That we so often give in to it does not open the door to blaming others instead it opens the door to examining our relationship with God.

“Lord, forgive me for blaming others for my sins.  I am the guilty one.  I want my life to be clean in Your omnipresent sight.  Prick my conscience where I need to get things cleaned.  I love You, Lord.”

Are we blaming others for our sinfulness?

hw-21

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.