Don’t leave home without Him!

“Moses bowed to the ground at once and worshiped.  ‘Lord,’ he said, ‘if I have found favor in your eyes, then let the Lord go with us.  Although this is a stiff-necked people, forgive OUR wickedness and OUR sin, and take us as your inheritance.” Exodus 34:8-9.

“I say to the Lord, ‘You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” Psalm 16:2.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 33-34, Psalm 16, and Acts 9.

I like the way Moses includes himself in the problem by using the word, “our.”  Based on the circumstances, it would have been easier (more accurate?) to blame the others.  Moses recognized that he was a sinner too.

The key connection in these two verses is the realization by the speakers (Moses and David) that they must have God with them or things will go terribly wrong.

It is such a simple truth: Connect to God before proceeding.

How often do we plan, proceed, and THEN invite God along?  Why would that not be a spiritually flawed tactic?

“If you abide in me……”  There can be no other starting point.

“Father, forgive me for ever starting anything without You on board.  I know better.  I must get You close to You at the start of each day and be tuned to You throughout each day.  There is no other way to live.  I must have You in charge as I go into today’s activities.  I give You charge now.”

Don’t leave home without Him!

hw-22

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus, Psalm

Comments are closed.