“Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”

“The jailer called for lights, rushed in and fell trembling before Paul and Silas.  He then brought them out and asked, ‘Sirs, what must I do to be saved?’” Acts 16:29-30.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 10-12, and Acts 16.

What an important question!

I am sure that the jailer hadn’t spent time pondering when the best time would be to ask such a question.  He just blurted it out.  He was sure that he had to have the answer as soon as possible.

What a difference there is when the questioner strongly desires the answer, compared to answers being floated to the disinterested.

I fear that so many of us waste our time floating answers to the disinterested rather than to the potentially responsive.  We preach to the choir.

Paul and Silas gave their message where they were.  They lived Godly lives and they spoke of God in their current location.  Why?  Because they believed that they were in those places for His reasons.  They had no clue that their jailer and his family would be believing the Good News.  P&S just lived it out and spoke it out in their midst and a glorious thing happened.

In John 15:7 it says, “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, you will ask what you want, and it will be done FOR you.”  I want my life to rightly represent God in the midst I’m at.  This verse is very certain to those who are abiding in God: if we’re abiding in Him then we will be asking for things from God.

If I ask to be enabled to rightly represent Him then I MUST let Him take it from there.  The promise in this verse is that He will do (what I asked) FOR me.  He will arrange things.  He will provide the setting and the audience.  He will give me the right words.  I must let Him do the heavy lifting!

“Father, I long to rightly represent You this day in my midst.  I ask and I trust You to orchestrate what happens next.  You are a great God.”

Are we ready to live for Him and speak of Him in our current midst?  Abide, ask, and follow His lead.

hw-29

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.