Active believers won’t be popular

“’They are all defying Caesar’s decrees, saying that there is another king, one called Jesus.’  When they heard this, the crowd and the city officials were thrown into turmoil.  Then they made Jason and the others post bond and let them go.”  Acts 17:7-9.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 13-14, and Acts 17.

On first reading, I’m thinking of their time.  A second look has me seeing today’s culture.

Active Christians today may well face difficult moments.  Why?  We do not believe what the prevailing culture believes.

When we slide along without confronting issues we will be accepted as “one of us.”  Start speaking out and standing up against the ways of the culture and sparks may fly.

One of the best places to wade into these waters is in comment sections.  I go there occasionally in Facebook and in newspapers.

I always identify myself by name and then attempt to respond in as Godly a way as is possible.  If my side of the discussion is Godly then I trust Him for the reactions.

We are called to be light in a dark place.  Under a “bushel” is not where that light belongs.

“Lord, You know all about what is going on.  I ask that You make me a light in thought, word, and deed in my midst.  Take me over.  Guide me.  Prick my conscience when I am messing things up.  I love You, Father.”

Trying to make everyone like you?  Don’t be an active believer.

hw-210

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.