There are rules

“The Lord said to Moses, ‘Speak to Aaron and his sons and to all the Israelites and say to them: ‘This is what the Lord has commanded:…..”  Leviticus 17:1-2.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 15-17, and Acts 18.

I will admit to speed reading through Leviticus.  So much of it has such a strong Old Testament flavor.

I read specific things and I can see why outsiders cherry-pick passages from this book to show how out-of-date the Bible is.

As I was praying tonight, the thought came to me about Leviticus: This book was written to confirm that God is a God of standards.  There are expectations on His part.

Jim Cymbala (Brooklyn Tabernacle) has written that if something specific is written in the OT, but not confirmed within the New Testament, it can be treated as a cultural thing within the time in was written and shouldn’t be considered applicable to the times of Jesus and our times.

The general specific that God is a God of rules is still applicable.  He tells me many things to do in the New Testament.  The general consequence that He is displeased with my sinning still stands.

He wants me to obey Him.  How that plays out is guided by my relationship to Him.  The closer I am to Him the more driven I am to get things right.

“Lord, Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.  I thank You for the valuable concepts that I get from it.  Help me to live a life that honors and pleases You.  I want that.  I love You, Lord.”

Do you make up your own rules?  God has standards.  Will we follow them?

hw-211

Leave a comment

Filed under Leviticus

Comments are closed.