Don’t beat a dead horse!

“But some of them became obstinate; they refused to believe and publicly maligned the Way.  So Paul left them.”  Acts 19:9.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 18-19, Psalm 13, and Acts 19.

Why stay?  The listeners weren’t interested.

God’s timing is what we need.  Stay or go must be within His wishes.

Paul had faced plenty of danger in his presentation of the Gospel. There were many life-and-death scenes.

Where the audience was receptive, Paul would stay.

I have family that rejects the Gospel.  I believe that they know what the Gospel is; they just do not want to believe that it is true.  Discussions on the subject reach dead ends in a hurry.

Should I persist with them?  God must be in the details of my life.  I must allow myself to be driven by Him.  If I will only do that then I will get the persist-or-don’t-persist issue settled.

I have really latched on to John 15:7 lately: “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done FOR you.”

I must get my “abiding” part right.  If so then I can ask for the salvation of my relatives.  What happens after that will be in His Hands.  God may use me directly.  He may use someone else.  The key point is that I let Him direct.  I let Him take over the details.

Paul was a man of prayer.  I suspect that in his relationship with God, Paul asked for wisdom BEFORE he engaged in discussion.  When the listeners resisted, Paul decided that God wanted him to move on.

“Lord, Your Way is THE way.  I want to be on it.  Direct my path.  Push me forward.  Pull me back.  You know which is which for me.  I trust You.  I need You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Why waste time if God is not with You?

hw-212

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.