Thanks for the warning but I’m doing it anyway!

“We sought out the disciples there and stayed with them seven days.  Through the Spirit they urged Paul not to go on to Jerusalem.” Acts 21:4.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 23-24, Psalm 24, and Acts 21.

These folks were telling Paul what the Holy Spirit had told them.

Paul didn’t follow their advice.  What’s going on there!

Why?  Paul earlier had said, “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there.  I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me.”  Acts 20:22-23.

My suspicion is that those who were insisting that Paul should not go to Jerusalem wanted to protect Paul from danger.  What are friends for?  However, in this case, Paul was already assured that there would be danger.  The (accurate) warning of danger was not going to hold Paul back.

In either situation, the Spirit revealed that there was danger ahead.  Paul heard that and pressed on.  Others heard the same information and wanted to restrain him.

If I am close to God, He will direct my path.  Others may come along who also want to direct my path.  They may be well-intentioned.  They may be Godly.  However, I must trust Him first.

“Lord, guide me. Show me what’s ahead if You want me to know but please guide me one step at a time. You know best.  I am a fool apart from You.  Prick my conscience when I am off course.  I need You every second.”

What advice do you heed?  What advice do you ignore?

hw-214

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.