Do you know who you’re messing with?

“But if you will not listen to me and carry out all these commands, …….”  Leviticus 26:14.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 25-26, and Acts 23.

If you want to get a good sense of what God is about, read Leviticus 26.

Things in this chapter are quite clear: “even before you make a choice, I (God) will let you in on the consequences.”

And the consequences are enormous.  We’re talking about a pleasant existence or an unpleasant existence.

You would think that the choice would be obvious.  I keep thinking about Pharaoh.  He was told by Moses what was going to happen and yet he persisted in opting for the bad choice.

We are often the same.  We often know the consequences of certain behavior but does that stop us?  Stay up late and you’ll be tired the next morning.  Drink coffee in the afternoon and sleep for you later will be hard to come by.

Most of what God wants us to do is clearly presented.  We must be close enough to Him to get the obvious done.

The less obvious?  We must be close enough to Him to ask Him what to do and confident that He will orchestrate how it will be done……. note John 15:7.

“Lord, You are omnipotent.  Rain falls at Your command and doesn’t when You choose to prevent it.  Thank You for supplying my needs.  Forgive me getting confused on what my “needs” are.  I love You, Father.  Direct my way.  Fill me with You this day, I pray.”

Knowing the consequences is possible with God.  He tells us in the Bible.

hw-216

Leave a comment

Filed under Leviticus

Comments are closed.