Who is this Jesus?

“When his accusers got up to speak, they did not charge him (Paul) with any of the crimes I had expected.  Instead, they had some points of dispute with him about their own religion and about a dead man named Jesus who Paul claimed was alive.”  Acts 25:18-19.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 3-4, and Acts 25.

Festus was on the scene I suspect during Jesus’ lifetime but look how he describes Him.

Jesus is a dead man but Paul is claiming that He is alive.

Aren’t people in our day following the same thinking?

Jesus is someone they dismiss as a story that has nothing to do with them.

The thought of someone coming back from the dead is very hard for many to believe.

The fact that the return of Jesus from the dead is somehow important (Good News?) is rejected as pure folly.

It is a hard sell for believers.  Doubters and dismissers seem to have the upper hand.

But if these folks only knew Who Jesus really was.  If they only knew that a loving God and His loving Son Jesus did something about our sin problem.  If they only knew that God raised Jesus from the dead to a new life which we also share because all our sins are taken care of.

Becoming a believer of such things necessitates a “seeker” mentality.  If you don’t think you’re sick, you have no interest in a doctor.  If the sins-forgiven life doesn’t interest you, then the Good News won’t be something you will investigate.

Festus was not a seeker of a sins-forgiven life.  He was collecting information about Paul.  He was missing something wonderful.

“Lord, You are God.  You have provided a way to rid me of my sins and to give me new life.  I must be about preparing this world for Your return.  Help me, Father, to be doing what I should.  Help me to rightly represent You this day.  I love You, Father.”

Who is Jesus to you?

hw-218

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.