We can’t persuade anyone to believe

“Then Agrippa said to Paul, ‘Do you thing that in such a short time you can persuade me to be a Christian?’  Paul replied, ‘Short time or long – I pray to God that not only you but all who are listening to me today may become what I am, except for these chains.’” Acts 26:28-29.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 5-6, Psalm 22, and Acts 26.

Paul had just explained to King Agrippa his background and why he was where he was now.  He gave the King the Gospel along the way.

King Agrippa realized that he had been now told of what God/Jesus had done and what his responsibilities now were.  However, instead of rejecting or accepting the Gospel, King Agrippa sidetracked into the shortness of Paul’s presentation.

God must prepare the hearts of those who present His Word as well as those who are receiving His Word.  Paul covered his side.  King Agrippa wasn’t ready to receive the truth and he missed a life-changing opportunity.

I have had very little opportunity to present the Gospel in person.  I sometimes wonder if I need to be better prepared but I know that is a mistake on my part.  What I must be is abiding in Him for all I’m worth and seeing where that leads me.  Paul ended up in front of a King with a perfect opportunity to share the Good News.

“Lord, have Your Way with me.  Be light to my path.  Forgive me for lagging behind Your Will.  Forgive me for running ahead.  Empower me to get it right.  I want to rightly represent You in every minute of the rest of the day.  Prick my conscience when I am messing things up.  I love You, Lord.”

We must let God do the heavy lifting when it comes to sharing the Good News.

hw-219

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.