Not everyone will believe the Good News

“Some were convinced by what he (Paul) said, but others would not believe.”  Acts 28:24.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 8-9, and Acts 28.

I believe that there are many people living among us who think that everything will work out in the end.

God is a God of love and no matter what I do, He will include me in His after-life.  How wrong those folks are!

If I believe that something is true, then I will act accordingly.  If I don’t believe enough to act accordingly then I don’t really believe.

My oft-used example of the Japanese soldier in the jungle of the Philippines fits here.  World War 2 was over and he was informed of that good news, in a variety of ways, during the twenty-seven years after the war ended.  He wouldn’t believe it and he acted accordingly.

If this man had announced that he did believe that the war was over yet stayed in resistance mode in the Philippines, we would be certain that he didn’t really believe the good news.

He needed to come out of the jungle and thereby act as someone who believed the good news.

Some folks refused to believe the good news.  They won’t accept its reality.  They unfortunately will face the consequences of their unbelief.

Paul ran into some of them in Rome.  He told these folks that the Good News would be told to others who would believe it and act accordingly.

“Lord, I believe the Good News: You took care of my sin problem.  You gave me an unburdened new life.  I must act accordingly.  I must do my part in preparing this world for Your return.  I love You, Father.”

God must direct us in all that we do.

hw-221

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.