Be a seeker

“My heart says of you, ‘Seek his face!’  Your face, Lord I will seek.”  Psalm 27:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading:  Numbers 10-11, Psalm 27, Mark 1.

O for a heart like that!  A heart that is telling me the Godly thing to do.

Often, we stumble and bumble along when trouble comes our way.  We will figure it out.  We’re creative.  We’re problem solvers.

This verse doesn’t go there. It tells of a Godly heart that is advising of the need to seek God.

Seeking God is a 24/7 thing.  Will I seek Him when things are going smoothly?  Oftentimes it is the time when spiritual drifting starts.  We think, “We’ve got this, Lord.”  O how foolish of us!

If I want to be able to freely ask God for things I must be abiding in Him.  If I abide in Him I will be collecting His Thoughts and Words.  Those thoughts and words will be who I am.

Since evil is still coming out of me, I must be lax in the seeking and abiding part.

God loves us so much.  He is ready and willing to give us whatever we need.  BUT we must be seeking and abiding so that our “needs” are fashioned by Him.

“Lord, help me to seek You with all my heart.  Prick my conscience when I am loose from You.  I have missed out on so much of You.  Take me over, I beg.”

How much time do we spend seeking God?

hw-222

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.