It’s still your fault

“Because of you the Lord became angry with me (Moses) also and said, ‘You shall not enter it, either.’” Deuteronomy 1:37.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 1-2, and Mark 12.

I have looked at several commentaries and I can’t spin it the way they do.

They (the commentary writers) claim that Moses was talking about the consequences of disobedience.  Respectfully, it doesn’t read that way to me.

This sounds, to me, as if Moses has chosen to still blame the Israelites for his not being able to enter the Promised Land.

No question that the Israelites WERE a big problem and often so.  Moses was told to do something, get water from a rock, and because of his anger with the Israelites went about doing God’s will in an ungodly way.

God told Moses after it happened that his behavior would cost him.  I have read nowhere that Moses repented and nowhere that he tried to bargain with God.

Moses had bargained with God before.  At one point, God wanted to destroy the Israelites but Moses pleaded with Him not to and God changed course.

This verse tells me that Moses was still carrying a grudge against the people he was leading.  God couldn’t have liked that.

I must be on the God-side of situations.  I must do what He wants me to do in them.  If I am being Godly and things go badly, I must assume that His Will is in it.  This may not be easy.

Likewise, if I am being ungodly, I must know that there will be consequences.  Moses’ consequence was severe by our thinking but we have no certainty as to what happens after death.

We also know from the New Testament that Moses was on a high mountain with Elijah when the transfiguration took place.  He was surely in the Promised Land then!

“Lord, I must do Your Will in every situation.  Forgive me for making my choices apart from You.  Help me to move on from things in the past that are troubling.  I want to be up-to-date with You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

We must take ownership of our OWN sinfulness.

hw-35

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.