“Moses, the answer is still, ‘No'”

“At that time I (Moses) pleaded with the Lord: ‘Sovereign Lord, you have begun to show to your servant your greatness and your strong hand.  For what god is there in heaven or on earth who can do the deeds and mighty works you do?  Let me go over and see the good land beyond the Jordan – that fine hill country and Lebanon.’  But because of you the Lord was angry with me and would not listen to me.  ‘That is enough,’ the Lord said. ‘Do not speak to me anymore about this matter.  Go up to the top of Pisgah and look west and north and south and east.  Look at the land with your own eyes, since you are not going to cross this Jordan.’”  Deuteronomy 3:23-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 3-4, Psalm 36, and Mark 13.

In yesterday’s entry from Deuteronomy chapter one, I described Moses as unrepentant and resigned to his fate of not crossing the Jordan River to enter the Promised Land.

Today’s lengthy entry still finds Moses unrepentant (“because of you”) but I did find Moses asking God to change His mind.

God doesn’t change His mind but does give Moses a look at the Promised Land from the top of Mount Pisgah.

God works in His own ways.  We can’t assume anything.

Think of Moses; he was told by God that He was going to destroy the Israelites and start a new “chosen people” through him.  Moses resisted this and God changed His mind.  Then Moses wanted to cross a river to see God’s promised place and is turned down.

Think of Paul; one time he’s in a jail cell with Silas and God gets him out that night.  Another time he’s in jail and he is kept there two years.

There is no pattern that we earthlings can count on other than the important fact that God is calling the shots.  He will do what is ultimately best for His people.  We must see that Big Picture or our trust in Him may change in the midst of our circumstances.  He is in charge no matter what happens.

“Lord, You know best.  Forgive me for letting my circumstances influence my trust level in You.  You have always been loving and just.  You know what I need and what I don’t need.  Manage my life.  I give you full charge.  I love You, Father.”

God will get it right.  Play along with Him.

hw-36

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.