In God I trust……completely?

“It is the Lord your God you must follow, and him you must revere.  Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.” Deuteronomy 13:4.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 13-15, and Galatians 1.

Beware of those who advocate moderation.

There are strong words in Revelation against a church that had a lukewarm approach to Godliness.  They were repulsive to Him.

Today’s verse advocates complete surrender to God.

Why would I want to do anything less?  My answer is that I fear where total commitment might lead me, so I “hedge” my level of commitment: “I’ll do anything, Lord, but not this.”  I may not say those words but my actions reflect my moderation thinking.

Brother Lawrence gives good instruction: “Think about God, as often as you can, day and night, in everything you do.  He is always with you.  Just as it would be rude if you deserted someone who was visiting you, why would you be disrespectful of God by abandoning His presence?”

I must be totally committed to God for my own spiritual good.  If I lessen my attachment to Him I will be easily distracted from His Will.  Apart from Him, I can do nothing of Godly value.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for moderating my commitment in following You.  I know better.  I love You, Father.”

Moderation does not fit with Godliness.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.