It won’t work!

“You who are trying to be justified by the law have been alienated from Christ; you have fallen away from grace.”  Galatians 5:4.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 25-27, and Galatians 5.

Could Paul be more direct?

Trying to work your way to being right with God, doesn’t work.

God does the heavy lifting.  Your part is to recognize that He has done it and then live accordingly.

In many ways, the Gospel is so simple that many can’t accept it as fact.  They want more responsibility.  They want a hand in the final arrangement.

There are many Scriptures where folks are reported to have said that they did this and that for God.  God’s reply?  “I never knew you.”  There will never be any works that will earn you an after-life with God.

When Jesus died, He took our past/present/future sins with Him to death.  They were buried and forever ended as a deterrent to our having an after-life with God.

I reflect again on Hiroo Onoka.  For twenty-nine years he stayed on in the Philippines fighting a war that had officially ended.  What a waste!  Think how different Hiroo’s life would have been if he had believed (there were numerous tries to convince him) that WW2 was over and acted accordingly.

Hiroo’s folly is the folly of many in our day.  God has taken care of their sin problem.  They are clean in His sight ultimately.  They need to realize that this has happened and live accordingly.  They have a new life.  Why not accept that reality?

“Lord, thank You for loving me enough to die for my sins.  My life is new.  My future is with You.  My present is with You.  How blessed I am!”

Are you following the Hiroo Onoka pattern?  Please, tell me you’re not!

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.