That figures!

“Many disasters and calamities will come down on them, and in that day they will ask, ‘Have not these disasters come on us because our God is not with us?’”  Deuteronomy 31:17-18.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 30-31, Psalm 40, and 1 Corinthians 1.

No rocket science here!

Of course, if they abandoned God they would suffer the consequences.  Things were pretty straight forward in the Old Testament when it came to the Israelites.

You would think that they would have figured things out but so often they didn’t.  God predicts to Moses what will happen and ahead it will.

When my life is a struggle, there comes a time when I gather my wits about me, and figure out why.  The answer never changes: You have detached yourself from God’s lead.  You have gone your own way.

You would think that I would know better.  I want to be close to God full-time and often I am.  I’m walking close.  I am thinking about Him.  I am asking for His guidance.  Other times, and it happens so quickly, I have chosen to go my own way. I initially hope that He is along but He never is when the route is of my choosing.

The big trap for me is often reacting badly to things I don’t like or I haven’t initiated.  Someone does something that impacts me.  I forget that God uses other people to test me, to guide me.  I often respond godlessly.  It is embarrassing after the fact.  The Israelites must have known the same feeling.  We are ALL sinners.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for missing You.  Forgive me for abandoning You.  You have everything that I ever need or want.  I cling now to You.  Direct my path.  This day is Yours’, Father.”

Is there a worse feeling than being a believer and being loose from God?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.