Why things are as they are

“Therefore, you will see the land only from a distance…” Deuteronomy 32:52.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 32-34, and 1 Corinthians 2.

What we do effects what will be.

Today’s verse relates to Moses.  The “therefore” references his anger at having to provide water for the whining Israelites.

God was displeased with what happened and it cost Moses an entry into the Promised Land.

We learn in Chapter 34 that when Moses died he was in perfect health.  He died because the Israelites were about to enter the Promised Land and Moses wasn’t going to be allowed entrance.

I must live my life as close to God as I can.  I do not want to jeopardize my future because of an ungodly action.

My life is filled with sin.  How will I keep from doing something like Moses did?  I am so needy.  I must stay in tight fellowship with Him.

I must not let my circumstances effect my behavior.  I am currently in the loveliest of settings (St. Lucia) with an unmatched collection of amenities.  Yet even here, detachment from God, comes too easily.  There must be no detachments!

“Lord, You know me yet You love me.  It makes no sense.  Thank You for Your Word.  I must be aware that my actions have consequences.  I love You.  Help me to live it out in every setting.  You are my God.”

God is in charge.  We must strive to do what He wants in every circumstance.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.