God sends in a play

“Set an ambush behind the city.” Joshua 8:2.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 7-8, Psalm 69, and 1 Corinthians 5.

The Israelites had just fought the folks in Ai and had lost badly.

How could that have happened?  One of the Israelites had not followed instructions in the previous battle.  God didn’t miss what had happened and punished accordingly.

Now God sends the Israelites back against Ai because the command-violator has been punished.  God was now back with the Israelites.

And what a difference it made!  God tells Joshua how to defeat Ai and naturally it works perfectly.  God knows what He’s doing in everything.

I must be wide open to God’s leading.  So often I get “ahead” of God.  I act and then ask Him to bless the action.  What could I possibly be thinking!

There is NO time when I should be acting independent of God.  My life must continually involve my seeking His Will.  A wonderful place to set the tone is when I wake up.  From Psalms: “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I put my trust in you.  Show me the way to go, for to you I entrust my life.  Rescue me from my enemies, Lord, for I hide myself in you.  Teach me to do your will, for you are my God.”

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for independent activities.  They are wastes of time.  I love You, Lord.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

God knows what we should be doing and not doing.  Will we live the way He wants us to live?

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.