How getting it wrong gets started

“The Israelites sampled their provisions but did not inquire of the Lord.  Then Joshua made a treaty of peace with them to let them live, and the leaders of the assembly ratified it by oath.”  Joshua 9:14-15.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 9-11, and 1 Corinthians 6.

Leave God out and by doing so let confusion and trouble in.

That’s what happened with the Israelites.  They fell for the trickery of the Gibeonites and then had to live with the consequences.

A quick look at the verse 14 tells you where the Israelites went wrong: “but did not inquire of the Lord.”

Why do you suppose that the Israelites didn’t inquire of the Lord?  I am guessing that, like us, they assumed that they had the senses to figure this one out.  “I won’t bother God with this obvious one.”  Silly Israelites and silly us as well!

There must be no juncture where I make a choice apart from Him.

I must have God in primary place in my life even before I get to a decision-making situation.

Therein is the struggle.  Too many times God is not in primary place.  I’ve gotten detached and have gotten into directing my own life.  That action is always regrettable.

As my life grows in God I will know that I am more dependent on Him than before.  I will realize the folly of independent actions.  I will know a history of blessings and unfortunate consequences all wrapped around choices made with or without Him.

“Lord, how obvious some of this is.  Apart from You I can make a mess of things.  It happened in the Old Testament and it happens to me.  Detaching from You is folly.  Forgive me for doing it.  I know better.  You must be guiding me.  Take over my life right not.  I love You, Father.”

Things fall apart when you mess up (with God) at the start!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.