Make plans accordingly

“What I mean, brothers and sisters, is that the time is short.  From now on those who have wives should live as if they do not; those who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if they were not theirs to keep; those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them.  For this world in its present form is passing away.”  1 Corinthians 7:29-31.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 12-14, and 1 Corinthians 7.

There is a detachment from this world coming.  What we have in this world will be gone.  We will have new life.

How easy it is for our energies to be glued to the less important.

These verses are not suggesting that I ignore my wife or not mourn with those who mourn.  It is about ignoring God while involved with those things.

Christ will be returning.  He will finish the work believers have undertaken to make this world a better place.

I must be about preparing myself and my surroundings for His return.  Those should indeed be my ultimate long-range concerns.

“Lord, help me to get my ultimate priorities straight.  Forgive me for forgetting to think of the Big Picture and preparing accordingly.  Ignite me with an urgency to please You in what I do.  I love You, Lord.  Help me to act/live accordingly.”

His plans must have top priority in my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.