Don’t be intimidated by the enemy

“….though the Canaanites have chariots fitted with iron and though they are strong, you can drive them out.”  Joshua 17:18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 15-17, and 1 Corinthians 8.

Fear of the enemy affects us all at times.

Why does this happen?  Our measuring system becomes faulty.  We enlarge the enemy and minimize God.

Joshua trusted God.  When God told him that He would go with the Israelites as they took over the Promised Land, Joshua believed Him.  Joshua has seen God in action (crossing the Jordan River, capturing Jericho) and was convinced that with God on their side there would be no defeats.

The Tribe of Joseph wasn’t as convinced.  To them the enemy was “strong” and they had the latest equipment (chariots fitted with iron).  “Things might not be easy,” they collectively thought.

Joshua would have none of that.  He told them that they could defeat their enemy.  Joshua probably added why.

I hear about Isis claiming to have done the violence at the House of Parliament yesterday and I fear.  Why?  Because, in my head, I oversize them and shouldn’t.

God is more powerful than Isis.  God is in charge.

My trust in Him must be strong enough to lessen my fear of the enemies of our times.  “I will fear no evil for thou art with me.”

“Lord, forgive me for minimizing Your influence on earth.  You are indeed in charge.  You are almighty.  No enemy can stand against You.  May I live in that Light this day.  I love You, Father.”

What enemy is intimidating you these days?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.