Making Godly choices

“If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more?  But we did not use this right.  On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ.”  1 Corinthians 9:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 18-20, and 1 Corinthians 9.

Paul tells the Corinthians that he deserves to be supported by them.  Then Paul tells the Corinthians that he has not chased their support.

What gives?  Paul is trying to set a lifestyle pattern for God’s servants.

I can do many things with my life.  Some of them I should be doing, others I should avoid.

Only by walking in step with Him will I be able to sort out one from the other.

Just because an opportunity is available does not mean that it is something I should do.

God has a plan for my life.  Will I stay close enough to Him to discern what it is?

Paul opted against something (being rewarded for preaching) because that was God’s leading in his life.

For others, and Paul does not go there, the financial support will be accepted.  In fact, financial support may be essential to make the Godly activity happen.

God needs to be the One sorting out the details of my life.  “Lord, what do You want me doing today?”

What a great book the Bible is.  There is so much that is thought provoking.  You must interpret some of it.  Other times the message is clear.

“Lord, take charge now of my life.  I do not want to go an inch further on my own.  Help me to get today’s choices right by Your standards.  You are a great God.  I love You, Father.”

Sorting out what we should do and shouldn’t do.  Only in Christ can we get it right!

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.