God is consistent

“Not one of all the Lord’s good promises to Israel failed; every one was fulfilled.” Joshua 21:45.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 21-22, Psalm 47, and I Corinthians 10.

That’s a pretty good record, don’t you think!

That is the God I must trust in.  The one with the perfect performance.

He is almighty.  He does not run into obstacles that change what He promised to do.

President Donald Trump has run into obstacles and apparently won’t be able to repeal Obamacare.  God doesn’t have such a problem.

What He says, goes.

Living as a believer means that I must do what I say I will do, assuming it is what God wants.  My words must be true.  I must be reliable.

One myth about God is that if I do what He wants then I will be better off than those who disrespect God.  It doesn’t work that way.  It rains on the just and the unjust.  If I do what God wants then He will bless me IN HIS WAY.  It may not be what I expect.  It might be more than I could ask or expect.  God is remarkable.

Because I belong to Him, I can expect that He will prune away that which displeases Him.  It is good for me to have that happen.

I follow God because He knows best.  My task will always be to be chasing His Will so that I can please Him.

“Lord, Your consistency is remarkable.  You truly know best.  Forgive me for chasing other gods for comfort.  My ultimate comfort is in You.  I love You, Lord.”

God can be trusted to keep His promises.

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.