Where does our strength come from?

“I sent the hornet ahead of you, which drove them out before you – also the two Amorite kings.  You did not do it with your own sword and bow.”  Joshua 24:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 23-24, Psalm 44, and 1 Corinthians 11.

This is God talking in today’s verse.

God doesn’t want the Israelites to get the impression that their victories in the Promised Land were of their own doing.  God made it happen.  He filled in the details that accomplished the action.

How dare we ever credit ourselves for anything.  God gives us the means to do things.

We know with certainty when our actions are done in opposition to His wishes.

I must be willing to be used by Him.  To be His instrument.  Under that arrangement my actions will please Him.

The Israelites had seen some remarkable things.  Sadly they, like us, fell into the habit of crediting themselves for the good and blaming God for the not so good.

If I understand how things work best: God is in charge and I must live accordingly, then the outcome is settled.

God wanted the Israelites to know that they had two choices; do it His way or their way.  Their history, and our history, should have made clear the consequences of either action.

We know the consequence of directly resisting God.  We will indeed gain separation from Him and earn where that takes us.

“Lord, Your Way is the best way.  Forgive me for choosing other paths.  For ignoring You.  For resisting You.  I love You.  I want to please You in everything I do.  Prick my conscience when I am off-course.  It is never where I want to be.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah, I beg.”

We are weaklings without God.

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.