Have a steady/strong relationship with God

“Then the Lord raised up judges, who saved them out of the hands of these raiders.  Yet they would not listen to their judges but prostituted themselves to other gods and worshiped them.  They quickly turned from the ways of their ancestors who had been obedient to the Lord’s commands.”  Judges 2:16-17.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 1-3, and 1 Corinthians 12.

This is not the way to live!

These folks have a relationship with God that has no lasting foundation.

When they abandoned God, by following/worshiping other gods, He would abandon them.  Down they would go and once again would be looking for rescuers.

I want a relationship with God that is steady strong.  Too often I am influenced by what is going on around me.  Therefore, when things are good, I am good.  When things go south, I head in the same direction.  That is not the way I should live.

I believe that I must have the same relationship with God whether I am alone or with others.

I experienced some of that “aloneness” on the recent vacation I went on.  In amazing beauty, I missed being with other active believers.  I felt spiritual loneliness.  As I read today’s Scriptures I realize that I was wrong to be lonely.  Why? Because God was there with me.  My attachment must be to Him, not to those around me.  I cannot let them change my relationship to God.  It must be steady strong wherever I am located.

The Israelites, in today’s verses, are hardly attached to God.  They are fair-weather followers of the highest order.  “Lukewarm” might be giving them more credit than they deserved.  They needed to reconsider their attachment to God and make adjustments.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for changing my level of Godliness to fit the situations I am in.  I want to be steady strong with You.  Help me, Lord, to make progress in that important direction.  I love You, Lord.”

Ditch the fair-weather relationship to God.  He want all-in.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.