We are all terminal

“You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure.” Psalm 39:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 4-5, Psalm 39,41, and 1 Corinthians 13.

We look at others and think, “They really have it made.  They’re rich.  They’re important.  They’re in great health.”

Wrong.  Everyone is terminal.  Things change in a heartbeat.

Our days are numbered by God………not us.  We have no control.

Since this is true, how then shall we live?  We need to think of our life in terms of, “now’s, rather than “years.”

With family in Newtown (CT) I know full-well that tragedy can strike at any moment.  I think of the folks crossing the bridge in London near the Parliament Building recently.  One second they’re living, the next they’re dead.

God is in charge.  He has plans for me and He knows how long I have to fulfill them.  I need to be aligned with Him to catch what His wishes are.

“Lord, forgive me for thinking that I have control of my days.  You are in control.  I want to rightly represent You today.  I want an immediate relationship with You.  You are my God.  Guide me.  Chide me.  Get me right, I beg.  Glory to You, Father.”

Don’t count on tomorrow.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.