“Shibboleth”: It’s not what you say, but how you say it!

“’Let me cross over,’ the men of Gilead asked him, ‘Are you an Ephraimite?’  If he replied, ‘No,’ they said, ‘All right, say ‘Shibboleth.’  If he said, ‘Sibboleth,’ because he could not pronounce the word correctly, they seized him and killed him.”  Judges 12:5-6.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 12, Psalm 50, and 2 Corinthians 1.

Sorting out the enemy made simple!

If the Bible was all about good things, you would never find a story like this in it.  Thousands of people were killed as Israelite tribes went after each other.  It wasn’t pretty!

There is evil in the world and many of those committing evil profess to be Godly.

My seriously reaching segue from this passage is that my words must be God’s Words.  In a society that eschews physical violence, we are more than willing to be verbally violent.

We profess being peacemakers yet our words are often trouble making.  We hurt people mentally and we should know better.

God knows all about us.  He knows our intentions.  We are an open book to Him.  How guarded that should make us as we think, and say, and act.

“Lord, You know my words, You know what I mean by them.  Forgive me for verbally assaulting others.   Help me to immerse myself in You so that what comes out of me will be the overflow of a truly God-filled heart.  Less is worthless.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you a mean person verbally?

St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.