Are you wearing a veil?

“Even to this day when Moses is read, a veil covers their hearts.  But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.  Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.  And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”  2 Corinthians 3:15-18.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 17-18, Psalm 89, and 2 Corinthians 3.

Folks feared looking at Moses when he came back from Mount Sinai.  He had this “glow” about him that scared them off.

Believers can be like Moses: We can glow.

The reactions we get from our “glowing” will surely vary.   Some people are going to want to avoid us or they’ll insist that we became less obvious in our beliefs.  Other people will find our “glowing” to be attractive.  They may be equally “glowing” so that there is a camaraderie or they may want to increase their “glow.”

If I am filled with God, there will be an overflow.  It will spill out of me as I live: I’ll say things, I’ll do things that will give it away.  I can’t help myself.

If I am restrained in my “glowing” then I am not filled with Him.  I do not have enough of Him to naturally share with others.

The “veil” referred to in these verses had to be worn by Moses because of the Israelites’ sinfulness.  They weren’t ready to be exposed to God and they knew it.

I have no reason to limit my attempts to reflect God’s glory.  I love God and I want to glow of Him.  My restraints in this effort are of my own doing.  They reflect my sinfulness.

“Lord, forgive me for not reflecting You in my midst.  I have You within me.  I open every part of my being to Your control.  Take me over, now.  Run my life.  I want there to be a natural overflow of You from within me.  I trust You to help me do this.  I love You, Lord.”

We should have no restraints in “glowing” of God.

St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.