Why doesn’t God listen to me?

“If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and has heard my prayer.”  Psalm 66:18-19.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 1-2, Psalm 66, and 2 Corinthians 7.

You want to tell someone something but they just don’t have the time or inclination to listen.  Doesn’t that frustrate you!

In the life of a believer, the ultimate Listener is God.  We want to converse with Him.  Why?  We know He cares about us.  We know that He knows what’s best for us.

But in verse 18, we are presented with a harsh reality; God isn’t always listening to us.  Wait a minute.  We can’t have that happening.  Therefore, it is essential that we eliminate the possible blockage.

To do that we need to discover what could cause God to stop listening to us.  Verse 18 provides that answer: “If I had cherished sin in my heart.”

It’s a bit like coming in for supper after working in the garden all afternoon: we are a dirty mess.  Before we have supper, we are going to have to clean ourselves up to make ourselves presentable to the folks we’ll sup with.

If I want God to listen to me I must FIRST make myself presentable/acceptable to Him.  If I have had a disagreement with someone and have not dealt with it I am not presentable to God.  Known sins need actions taken regarding them.

“Lord, reveal to me that which impinges on our relationship.  I want to deal with those areas so that we can be in free-flowing conversation.  I love You and do not want anything to come between us.  Thank You for Your Word.  I love You, Father.”

We must make ourselves presentable to God by dealing with our known sins.

St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.