Are you a “strong” Christian? I hope not!

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2 Corinthians 12:10.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 13, 1 Chronicles 2-3, and 2 Corinthians 12.

Today’s verse warns against that “strong Christian” perception.

If we are strong, why would we need God?

It is best for us to see ourselves as weak.  Why?  Then we know that we must turn elsewhere for our strength……..God.

Paul rattles off situations where he was overwhelmed as he conceived how he would deal with them.  I do not believe that Paul relished the bad situations.  Rather, he relished the fact that those situations reminded him of his weakness.

When I cannot take care of something, it is very likely that I will turn to someone who can help me.  In Paul’s case, it was God.

It also needs noting that there are NO situations in which I have less need of God.  Will I lessen my dependence on Him because things are going smoothly?  I must not.  I need Him in everything.

“Lord, You are my God in all seasons.  Forgive me for mumbling in the tough times and ignoring You in the easy times.  I need You all the time because I am weak apart from You.  You have everything I need no matter what I’m facing.  I love You, Lord.”

Our strength must be in God, not ourselves.  Otherwise, we’ll go it without Him and wish we hadn’t.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.