Dare to be like …………. Jonathan?

“Jonathan said to his young armor-bearer, ‘Come, let’s go over to the outpost of those uncircumcised men.  Perhaps the Lord will act in our behalf.  Nothing can hinder the Lord from saving, whether by many or by few.’”  1 Samuel 14:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 14, 1 Chronicles 4, and 2 Corinthians 13.

We usually get, “Dare to be like Daniel.”

Why not add Jonathan?

The key to this is not Jonathan’s behavior but his attitude.

Jonathan should have let the others know where he was going.  He didn’t but the last part of today’s verse might explain that behavior.

Jonathan wasn’t sure that God was going to bless what he and his armor-bearer were about to do.  However, Jonathan did know that God didn’t need numbers to defeat an enemy.

Knowing the strength of God is important.  Often, we are faced with sizable dilemmas.  Is anything overwhelming to God?

Yesterday in 2 Corinthians 12, the importance of recognizing our weakness was referenced.  When we think that we can part from God’s direction and get things right in our own strength we are wrong.

When I realize my limitations then I am open to the One who is unlimited.

When I realize that God is unlimited I can better face situations with confidence in Him.

“Lord, You are omnipotent.  Numbers do not overwhelm You.  Forgive me for being overwhelmed by situations and forgetting to recall that You, my Lord, aren’t.  I have so much to learn.  Be patient with me, O God.”

Let’s dare to approach our tough situations as Jonathan did in today’s lesson.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.