How to face the big deals in life

“Then the Philistine said, ‘This day I defy the armies of Israel!  Give me a man and let us fight each other.’  On hearing the Philistine’s words, Saul and ALL the Israelites were dismayed and terrified.”  1 Samuel 17:10-11.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 17, Psalm 9, and Matthew 2.

Mountains in our minds.

In our own vision, the world is filled with “giants.”

How often our first reactions to “giants” are godless ones.

Goliath scared Saul and the Israelites godless!

This guy was big (9’9”).  A basketball rim is 10’.  Not only was Goliath big but he had on the latest equipment and his weapons were first-rate as well.  Israel had no one like him.

What to do?  In times like that you find out where your ultimate trust is located.  For Saul and the Israelites, it was in the visible and they were frightened using their godless eyes.

Later, David will show up.  He does NOT take note of Goliath’s size.  He does take note that Goliath defies his God.  David’s God had helped him defend his sheep and David was certain that with God he could defeat Goliath.

God is not intimidated by the troubles I face.  He is not overwhelmed by the international threats of war of our day.  War may happen BUT God is in charge ultimately.  I must function in His strength against enemies that are visibly scary.

“Lord, You are omnipotent.  I thank You for the stories of people acting just like I do so that I can see how pitiful my behavior is.  I have You.  You are bigger than anything I face.  I want Your Ways to be my way from here on in.  Help me, God.”

Will we trust God in the slight inclines in our lives?  How about in the mountains?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.