Is Satan in your head?

“Jesus said to him, ‘Away from me, Satan!’”  Matthew 4:10.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 19, 1 Chronicles 7, Psalm 59, and Matthew 4.

I don’t find Satan to be the “roaring lion.”  I find him to be the persistent whisperer.

His intended results are similar.  It is his approach that varies.

With Jesus, Satan shows a knowledge of Scripture.  Satan is not some unarmed person sporting horns and wearing a red suit.  Only fools believe that sort of stuff!

I am way too easily troubled by my circumstances.  When things aren’t right (for me) I get unsettled.  Almost immediately the whisperer tries to connect to me.  “You need to get back at them.”  “You need to defend yourself.”

I must be able to put the brakes to Satan’s whispers.  It would surely help if I recognized Satan’s voice.

If I am full of God then Satan’s voice will be easily recognized.  Notice how Jesus responded.  He didn’t whisper back……..He shouted.

I have often used James 4:7 when I hear Satan’s whisper: “Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”  I claim the verse’s promise and I claim it with authority.  Satan will flee but he can be expected to return whispering more evil into my thoughts.  It is an ongoing process.  O how I need God!

“Lord, You resisted Satan and I must too.  I cannot let him build up footholds in my thoughts.  Help me to recognize his voice and resist him as You did.  I want to only hear You.  Help me, I beg.”

Recognize Satan’s whispers and shout back!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.