The Jesus definition of an adulterer……….you qualify!

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’  But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.”  Matthew 5:27-28.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 20-21, Psalm 34, and Matthew 5.

We are all adulterers by this definition.

Just looking qualifies us?

In our culture the temptations to commit adultery, in the Jesus definition of it, are everywhere.

Satan must be delighted because what really are temptations are presented to us perfectly normal.

I have stopped going to beaches and to movies because I want to avoid lustful situations.  I was a life guard for five years and the pull to take in the sights was enormous.

How do you avoid the lust luring found on TV and on the computer?  I have become a convert to Hallmark, sports, and a little news.  The computer has all sorts of appeals along the edges.  You are trying to read something and the sidebars try to draw you to adultery.

I cannot take up residence in a cave.  I must live in this world.  Trying not to be caught up in this world is a challenge.

The bottom line is that I must run, as Joseph tried to, when the temptation to lust surfaces.  There can be no compromise.  Stop watching what draws you to adultery.

How easy for us to imagine ourselves as quite presentable to God.  What a foolish assumption!  How many times would we have to be caught in adultery before our wives left us?  Jesus knows how often it has happened.  He has the full blotter.  We need to own up to our sinfulness and beg Him to help us avoid further dailliances.

“Lord, forgive me for giving in to adultery.  It is sin.  I am weak.  I need to be on Your agenda so that my time will be in Your hands.  I beg for Your help, Lord.”

We are all adulterers according to the Jesus definition.  How dirty we are in His sight………..yet He died for us!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.