Are you willing to let God change you or do you want Him to work on others first?

“I call on you, my God, for you will answer me; turn your ear to me and hear my prayer.”  Psalm 17:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 22, Psalm 17 & 35, Matthew 6.

Where do we look when trouble comes?

David gets it right in today’s verse.  We must call on God.

Notice David’s confidence.  He doesn’t say that God might answer him.  He says that God will answer him.

And God will answer.  We might not like the answer but an answer we get.

We often pray that God will make our lives easier.  The people at work, our family members, are giving us trouble.  We want God to “fix” them.  Often the one needing “fixing” is us.

I do not react well to difficulties.  I want to be right and in the right.  When that doesn’t happen, I want changes made in OTHERS.  “Get them in step with me!”

My assumptions of Godliness fall through the cracks in these situations.  How can God get my attention?  When things are smooth, I am relaxed and prayerful.  When unsmooth?  Edgy and godless.

It is not right.  God is not mocked by such a flimsy relationship to Him.

If I am tight to God, I will be overflowing with Him.  No matter what “midst” I happen to find myself, I will do God’s Will.  I will learn.  I will discover my behavioral discrepancies.  I will move on with Him.

But that isn’t what happens.  The storms arrive and I’m in a dither.  O Lord, what can I do?

My relationship to God must be ongoing.  I cannot for an instant relax my hold on Him.  There can be no setting in which the Evil Whisperer sways my actions.  I must learn God’s restraint.  I must learn God’s Ways in each and every situation.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for giving in to godlessness.  Forgive me for swapping Your Words for my words.  Mine are trouble looking for a place to be said.  I love You.  Take every part of me over, I beg.”

God is willing to take charge of our lives.  Will we allow Him to?

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.