Praying in bed

“On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night.”  Psalm 63:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 25-26, Psalm 63, Matthew 9.

Lying awake when you could be sleeping can be frustrating.

In today’s verse, however, we learn that these unscheduled awakenings are opportunities.

Why are we awake when we should be asleep?  God is in our midst and wants us in an awakened state.

I have begun to use these times as prayer time.  If there are pressing needs, I get right to them.

Sometimes I will pray for every family member I can think of.  At times a name will come to mind and even though I know of no details I will ask God to intervene in their life where it’s needed.

Sometimes there are things that I have left unsettled and I ask for strength to get to them when I get up.  At times I need wisdom to get my life right.

There are times in the night where I will run through Scripture that I have been memorizing.  God’s Word is in the midst!

The possibilities are endless.  I usually fall back to sleep somewhere along the line.

“Lord, I thank You for getting my attention in the night.  Some of my best quiet time comes out of a sound sleep.  I want You running me.  Get my attention whenever and however You can.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Speak to me, Lord, whenever and wherever You want to.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.