Want to know if you’re close to God?

Surely the righteous will praise your name, and the upright will live in your presence.”  Psalm 140:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 1, Psalm 140, and Matthew 13.

It makes perfect sense to the psalmist.

He starts out with “surely” and goes from there.

How are we supposed to behave?  Some of the things we’re supposed to do are so obvious.  When we aren’t doing them, something else becomes obvious.

I think it is safe to conclude that if I am NOT praising God, then I am NOT living in His presence.

I’m alive and moving but I am not close to God.  If I was, then praise of God would be forthcoming.  How simple is this?

If we want to evaluate our relationship to God all we do is listen for our praise of Him.  If that praise is non-existent or limited, then we have a relational problem.  If it is a steady flow of praise of Him, then our connection to Him is where it should be.

Sometimes we major in complicating things and in rationalizing things such as our relationship to God.  We need not, according to today’s verse.  Our words reveal the state of our relationship to God.

“Lord, forgive me for separating myself from You.  I love You.  I want a steady/firm relationship with You.  Thank You for today’s verse which explains, in terms that even I can understand, how close I really am to You.  I need You every second.”

Today’s verse takes the guesswork out of estimating our relationship to God.  How did you do?

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.