I need help!

“Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’”  Matthew 14:29-30.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 2, 1 Chronicles 11, Psalm 142, and Matthew 14.

Knowing where to turn for help is very important.

Peter knew what Jesus was capable of.  He has seen miracles of all sorts.  When Peter was starting to sink, he knew to call to Jesus for help.

Do we do the same?

I currently have a leak in my roof.  When I first noticed it several days ago, my first inclination was not to ask God for help.  It was trying to figure out a solution on my own.

We get so caught up in our own estimations of where our strength comes from.  What I have is a gift of God.

The One who has given me strength must never be left out of my life.

If I had been walking closely with God when I noticed that roof leak, I would have conversed with Him about it.  I would have asked for His help as Peter did.

There is a very practical level to being a believer.  We must have Him in our lives enough that our day-to-day things are part of our relationship with Him.  Our tendency, to our shame, is to “send for God,” or to “dispatch Him” to places of our choosing.

How different it would be if our relationship to Him was ongoing.  I need it to be that way.

“Lord, forgive me for loosening my grip on our relationship.  I want to walk this day with You.  I want to share my day with You as it unfolds.  I can have no greater Companion.  I love You, Lord.

We must walk closely with God.  He must be part of each moment of our day.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.