My inconsistencies are consistent

“Simon Peter answered, ‘You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.’”  Matthew 16:16.

“Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him, ‘Never, Lord!’ he said. ‘This shall never happen to you!’” Matthew 16:22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 4-5, Psalm 139, and Matthew 16.

Same guy.  Same chapter.

In one verse, we have Peter presenting a perfect description of Jesus.  In the other verse, we have Peter telling Jesus what He should do.  Terribly inconsistent, don’t you think?

We are the same; consistently inconsistent.

We want to be perfect with God.  To do everything He wants us to do.  But then in the next moment we choose our own way.

Our prayers “send” God places: He’s omnipresent.  Why can’t we figure this out?

We read Scripture to the point of knowledge and yet don’t live on what we’ve learned.  Why read if you don’t heed?

What does a perfect relationship with God look like?  We must start with Him in charge and be willing to do whatever He wants us to do.  We’ll wait.  We’ll go full speed.  We’ll marvel at Him.  We’ll love Him.  I could go on……..

“Lord, forgive me for my inconsistencies.  I want my life to be as You want it to be.  Forgive me for going too fast and for going too slow.  Help me get Your pace right.  I am weak.  You are strong.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

The closer we are to God the more consistent our relationship to Him will be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.