Consider yourself warned

“If anyone causes one of these little ones – those who believe in me – to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.”  Matthew 18:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Chronicles 14-15, Psalm 132, and Matthew 18.

This is a serious warning.

I am on notice that I must not be a bad influence for other believers.

I would look at this the opposite way: How can I be a Godly influence for other believers?

I must be walking as close as possible with God.  If I am connected to Him, I will rightly represent Him in my midst.

I do plenty of writing.  I must remember that my written words can have an influence on a reader.  They may be written in a place where no one is near me but they have the potential to be read by unknown others in other places.  I must align myself to Him before I write.

I must remember that my actions and inactions speak volumes within my family.  They see what I do and what I don’t do.

How often does the central theme return: If I live close to God, I will live in a Godly fashion.  Apart from Him I can do plenty………..wrong!

“Lord, thank You for the reminder of my responsibilities regarding others.  I must be a Godly influence.  What I say.  What I do.  Where I go.  What I write.  In these and in many more, are areas where I must reflect You.  Prick my conscience when I am being a bad influence.  Sometimes it’s in commission and sometimes it’s in omission.  Help me to get it right, I beg.  I love You, Lord.”

This is not a minor thing.  We must be Godly influences.

St. Lucia

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.