Can we reason with God?

“So he said he would destroy them – had not Moses, his chosen one, stood in the breach before him to keep his wrath from destroying them.”  Psalm 106:23.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Chronicles 16, Psalm 106, and Matthew 19.

God can be reasoned with.

Do you doubt it?  Here we read of Moses doing it.  Earlier, Abraham did it when he wanted to save the city Lot lived in.  There is precedence.

We see things heading in a bad direction and we wonder what we can do: reason with God.

The six-year-old I’ve referenced before, who has Stage 4 cancer, comes to mind when I think of what Moses did.  I am reasoning with God that He will bypass physicians and heal her.  It is the merciful thing to do, in my opinion, and God is capable of the action.  Bottom line, however, is that God knows best and will do what is best.

God wants to interact with us.  We are His children.  He wants to hear our, “Give me a bike,” conversations.  We may not get that bike but we are addressing Him as Someone who could make it happen, as God, if you will.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word.  Thank You for loving me so much that You took care of my sin burden.  You set me free of its consequences and gave me a new, clean life.  What a great God, You are!  Thank You, for caring for me.  I love you, Lord.”

We can reason with God.  Plead your case.  Ask for His consideration.  Moses and Abraham did.

St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.