Our way or His Way?

“Let us break their chains and throw off their shackles.”  Psalm 2:3.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 7, 1 Chronicles 17, Psalm 2, and Matthew 20.

Remember in Acts where Stephen is preaching in front of his final adversaries?  They are so disturbed by what Stephen is saying that they block their ears and shout………all to drown him out!

The thought of God drives many to active resistance.  Why?  God will restrict them.  God will tell them what to do.  They want to run their own lives.  They believe that they know best.

Of course, they don’t know best because God does.

We are aware of folks who are blatantly hostile to God.  I have a family member who’s regard for God could be described as somewhere between minimal and nil.  He thinks that we’re the ones in shackles and that we don’t know better.  His educated responses to Godly things challenges me to educate myself to be able to respond in a Godly educated way.

I must be willing to be under God’s control in every part of my life.  There can’t be “closets” closed to Him.

“Lord, I need You in every area of my life.  I want to be in the right place doing exactly what You want.  Thank You for all You have done for me.  Invade those in my family who are resistant to You.  They desperately need You.  Intervene, I beg.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you happy being yoked to God?  It should be light and easy unless you’re chasing your own ways.

St. Lucia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.