Blind rage

“The blind and the lame came to him at the temple, and he healed them.  BUT when the chief priests and the teachers of the law saw the wonderful things he did and the children shouting in the temple courts, ‘Hosanna to the Son of David,’ they were indignant.”  Matthew 21:14-15.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 8-9, 1 Chronicles 18-19, and Matthew 21.

Something good is happening but not everyone sees it that way.

There was excitement in the air; people were healed and children were shouting praises to the Healer.

Sounds like a time worthy of excitement but not to the chief priests and the teachers of the law.  They were “indignant.”

Why would happy children and healed folks be such a problem to them?  Their hatred of Jesus was so enormous that they refused to see the obviously good things that were being done by Jesus.

This attitude certainly relates to national politics.  One candidate wins and no matter what they do as an elected official, it is considered wrong by the friends of the unelected candidate.

I must be certain that my version of “wrong” is right.  I cannot cast away a form of worship because it is different or because someone not connected to my church does it.

To get right right, I must be tight with God.  I cannot assume that His Path goes a certain way and that I can figure it out on my own.  I need to be at His side.

It is embarrassing to read of the misguided rage of the Pharisees toward Jesus.  If only they had known.  These folks knew the Old Testament but they missed the Messiah in their midst.  I don’t want to be a Pharisee in my day.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word.  Help me to learn from reading/studying it.  Help me to understand Your Ways.  Forgive me for missing what You want me to do or not do.  I need closeness to You every second.  I love You, Lord.”

Do you have a dislike for someone that keeps them from ever doing anything good as far as you’re concerned?

St. Lucia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.